Want to talk with us
+234 (0) 8184290940

2021 Annual Scholarship Awards/Public Lecture Series

  • Home
  • 2021 Annual Scholarship Awards/Public Lecture Series

13 Apr
2021 Annual Scholarship Awards/Public Lecture Series

The Barr. Sam Otoboeze Foundation (BSOF) held her 12th annual event on December 22nd and 23rd, 2021, in collaboration with the Ochima Foundation, with the theme: POVERTY REDUCTION CAMPAIGN (PRC) FOR WOMEN AND YOUTHS, THROUGH SKILLS TRAINING AND DEVELOPMENT.

The theme was based on the fact that women and youth have the potential to boost economic growth and reduce poverty if they have access to education, employment, health care, and family planning services.

The Enugu State Governor, His Excellency RT. Hon Dr. Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi, and a slew of dignitaries attended the event, including former Minister of Power and Steel, Prof Bart O. Nnaji, Col. Abdulrahaman Dambazau, and former Governor of Old Enugu State, His Excellency Okwesilieze Nwodo (who was the Chairman and Speaker during the Day 1 Public Lecture and Quiz event).

DAY 1 EVENT: PUBLIC LECTURE SERIES – Poverty Reduction Campaign (PRC) for Women and Youths, Through Skills Training and Development.

The BSOF’s main event is preceded by the Public lecture series. The 2021 public lecture series’ goal was to educate attendees on the topic POVERTY REDUCTION CAMPAIGN (PRC) FOR WOMEN AND YOUTHS THROUGH SKILLS TRAINING AND DEVELOPMENT.

H.E. Dr. Okwesilieze Nwodo (former Governor of Enugu State), Rev. Sr. Prof Mary Basil Nwoke, Roseline Chinwe Onah, HRH Igwe Anikwe I. Uchenna, and Amb. Efe Ekure, represented by Amb. Isreal Joe, delivered the lectures.

Following the lectures, the annual BSOF quiz competition, which is held to select recipients of the BSOF Scholarship from Public Secondary Schools, was held.
Three secondary schools competed, and instead of being represented by two students per school as is customary, one of the schools was represented by a single student, who surprisingly won the 2021 quiz competition.

The medical team of the BSOF also provided free medical consultation and diagnostic services. Residents of the community and event attendees who were tested by the BSOF medical team were also given free medications.

Evening Event: BISHOPS NIGHT-
We had over 5 priests from the Anglican and Catholic churches in attendance at the Bishops Night, including Most Rev. Aloysius Agbo (Bishop of the Anglican Bishop of Nsukka), Most Rev. Prof. Godfery Igwebuike Onnah, and Most Rev. Dr. Peter Okpaleke. It was a night of praise and exaltation of God’s word.

At the end, attendees were treated to an exhilarating performance by Enugu’s Otoboeze Cultural troop.


This is the grand-finale, which is attended by the society’s crème de la crème from all over Nigeria.

The Governor of Enugu State, RT. Hon Dr. Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi, the former Minister of Power, Prof. Bart Nnaji, Col. Abdulrahaman Dambazau, and several other dignitaries, including Royal Fathers and gentlemen and ladies of the press, attended the 2021 event.

At the event, awards were given to students from the Community Primary School in Ochima, Enugu State, who placed first through third.

The winner of the quiz competition was also given a scholarship and stationery.

Seed grants ranging from N100,000 to N350,000 were also given to the first through sixth place winners of the POVERTY ALLEVIATION TRAINING TO CURB INSECURITY IN NIGERIA (PATCIN PROJECT), which took place on November 3rd at the 1st Forty hotel in Wuse 2, Abuja.

The award for best branch of the year went to the BSOF, Abuja Branch.

A prize was also given to the best teacher of the year.

The otoboeze cultural troop of Enugu also performed at the ceremony.

Previous Post
Next Post


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

4 + 3 =

Barr. Samuel C. Otoboeze, CPP
Bsof president
PhD(UNN) - (member, board of trustee)
Barr. G. O. Okafor, OON, SAN, KSJ
(member, board of trustee)
HRH Igwe Christain Eze (Ezeoha I of Idoha)
(member, board of trustee)
Rev. Fr. (Dr). Eva Chuma Nnamene
(member, board of trustee)
Prof. Ngozi Ejionueme
(member, board of trustee)